Six teams, eight matches in Pakistan: Sethi tweets about PSL 2018

Chairman Pakistan Super League (PSL) Najam Sethi on Friday announced the addition of a sixth team to the existing five teams in the cricket tournament’s next edition.

He also said the total number of matches in the PSL’s next iteration would increase to 34, out of which eight matches, he said, could be held in Pakistan.

Cricket fans have been speculating anxiously about the inclusion of at least one more team in the PSL since the beginning of the league. An overwhelming number of cricket followers replied to Najam Sethi’s tweet with the suggestion to have the new team launch under the banner of “Kashmir”.

However, against the backdrop of Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) on-going friction with the Indian cricket board, it remains to be seen whether such a suggestion will be taken.

Next year: six teams, 34 matches, will try for up to 8 matches in Pak! Inshallah!

This year’s PSL saw its final match take place at Lahore’s Gadaffi stadium. The last match of the tournament, played between Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi, ended with Zalmi lifting the championship trophy.

With the inclusion of one more team and an expanded number of fixtures, next year’s PSL could be bigger in size and commercial value.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *